Access to Justice Library Initiative
The Chelmsford Public Library is proud to partner with the Massachusetts Trial Court to offer access to virtual court services through the Access to Justice Library Initiative.
AtoZ Food America is a United States focused database with recipes and food culture from all 50 states. It also includes historical recipes and information about regional cuisines. View the tutorial.
AtoZ Maps Online provides a wide variety of city, state, and country maps – both current and historical. You can find climate, ecology, and topographic maps. There are historical maps and maps about empires and exploration. It even includes a section about world flags! View the tutorial.
Recipes and food culture from around the world. AtoZ World Food covers the cuisine of more than 200 different countries, including beverages! View the tutorial.
Chelmsford Library How-To Afternoons Series
Series of programs focused on learning a new skill or talent, such as bike repair, playing the ukulele, and more – see the notes, videos, photos, and other resources from each program.
Learn a new skill or hobby with 1,000+ award-winning art & craft video classes, taught by recognized design experts and artists. You can also see a list of project videos before logging in. View the tutorial.
Lingo LITE offers basic vocabulary training in 30 different languages, perfect for travelers and beginning language learners. Users can choose both the interface language and the language of study, and the instructional video and audio is presented by native speakers. You can also access Lingo LITE through their app, available in your smart device’s app store for free.
Niche Academy: Online Learning
Tutorials created by staff in Chelmsford and libraries across the country, focusing on educational topics across a variety of subjects: business, finance, evaluating online information, health, research skills, and more. Click into any tutorial for a step-by-step guide, with text, graphic, and video instructions. We also take suggestions for new tutorials!
Niche Academy: Technology Learning
Tutorials created by staff in Chelmsford and libraries across the country, focusing on technology and research topics. Click into any tutorial for a step-by-step guide, with text, graphic, and video instructions, on topics such as using Microsoft Word, using Instragram, researching your family’s genealogy, buying a new computer, and more. We also take suggestions for new tutorials!
Discover which careers suit you best, research potential career options, and explore the requirements and outlooks for the occupations you’re interested in. View the tutorial.
Presents a multi-faceted method (video, audio, games, quizzes, etc) for learning conversational language skills, including grammar and culture lessons, with both online and downloadable learning options. Languages include: French, German, Italian, Spanish (Latin American), Chinese (Mandarin), Japanese, Korean, Hindi, Arabic, English (from Spanish), American Sign Language. View the tutorial.
This resource from the National Cybersecurity Alliance contains a variety of tutorials and other resources to help you use social media and he internet safely. Find information on personal privacy, corporate security, computer viruses, reporting cybercrime, and many other urgent topics.
Transparent Language Online provides a fun, effective, and engaging experience for online language learners of all levels—and it’s all free and easy to use with a library card. It provides unlimited access to more than 120 languages, including ESL for speakers of over 26 languages, and 12+ Indigenous languages. Lessons and course materials are designed to build listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills. Transparent Language Online is als available as an app for iOS and Android. View the tutorial.
Niche Academy Tutorials:
- Anger Management
- Automotive Maintenance
- Boundaries
- Cognitive Behavioral Therapy
- Creativebug – Online Arts and Crafts Classes
- Critical Thinking Skills – Causation vs. Correlation
- Critical Thinking Skills – Confirmation Bias
- Critical Thinking Skills – Lateral Reading
- Critical Thinking Skills – Straw Man Arguments
- Critical Thinking Skills – The Power of CMD/CTRL F
- Evaluating Online Resources
- Google Scholar Database Demonstration
- Inexpensive & Easy Activities
- Research Essentials – Effective Search Techniques
- Tabletop Games and 21st Century Skill Development
Chelmsford Community Education – A variety of classes offered for all ages. Registration fees may apply.
DMV-Practice-Test: Free practice tests for every state (including Massachusetts. Please Note: dmv-practice-test is not affiliated with or evaluated by the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles. The official RMV Driver’s Manual is available on their website, along with additional driver’s education information.
Driving-Test.org: MA Permit Practice – Free RMV permit practice tests, including 11 car practice tests, 6 motorcycle practice tests, 3 CDL (Commercial Driver’s License) practice tests, 3 online driver’s manuals (car, motorcycle, CDL), and an FAQ section with detailed answers to 100+ DMV-related questions. Please Note: Driving-Test.org is not affiliated with or evaluated by the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles. The official RMV Driver’s Manual is available on their website, along with additional driver’s education information.
edX – This nonprofit, open source platform offers free online courses from college and university partners
ESL Resources for Chelmsford Patrons – courses or other information for learning English as a speaker of another language
Goodwill Community Foundation LearnFree – Self-paced tutorials for learning Everyday Life skills, Basic Math, Computer Programs, Mobile Apps, Reading, and much more
Khan Academy – Primarily video based, free lessons on a variety of subjects
MIT Open Courseware – Access to hundreds of MIT courses for free, including access to recorded lectures, course materials, and some textbooks
Open Culture – This website is a hub for digital education, with links to thousands of online courses, free movies, free audiobooks, and free textbooks
Open Edu from Slow Factory – a free and accessible climate education series that centers the voices and perspectives of People of the Global Majority.