Integrates news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more in a single search with a global perspective.
Everything you’ve ever wanted to know about the 175+ countries around the world. Useful for business travelers, tourists, and students. Topics for each country include society and culture, travel essentials, business culture, communications, traditions, and even includes recipes for ethnic dishes. View the tutorial.
Lingo LITE offers basic vocabulary training in 30 different languages, perfect for travelers and beginning language learners. Users can choose both the interface language and the language of study, and the instructional video and audio is presented by native speakers. You can also access Lingo LITE through their app, available in your smart device’s app store for free.
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.
Presents a multi-faceted method (video, audio, games, quizzes, etc) for learning conversational language skills, including grammar and culture lessons, with both online and downloadable learning options. Languages include: French, German, Italian, Spanish (Latin American), Chinese (Mandarin), Japanese, Korean, Hindi, Arabic, English (from Spanish), American Sign Language. View the tutorial.
Transparent Language Online provides a fun, effective, and engaging experience for online language learners of all levels—and it’s all free and easy to use with a library card. It provides unlimited access to more than 120 languages, including ESL for speakers of over 26 languages, and 12+ Indigenous languages. Lessons and course materials are designed to build listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills. Transparent Language Online is als available as an app for iOS and Android. View the tutorial.
The Chelmsford Library, as well as other libraries in the area, offer informal groups for people learning languages. These do change over time, so please check our event calendar or contact the library in question for meeting times.
- Chelmsford Library – English, French
- Memorial Hall Library, Andover – English. Contact Carolyn Fantini at 978-475-4602
- Groton Public Library – Spanish. Contact Judy Giger, email hidden; JavaScript is required, 978-448-1167
- Nashua Public Library – Lithuanian, Chinese, French, Italian, Spanish. Contact Carol Eyman at (603) 589-4610 or email hidden; JavaScript is required
Books and Videos
Adult items are in the Language Learning section on the main level, at call number Language/400-499; Childrens books are in the Childrens Room at J/400-J/499. Common languages are located at:
- English: 420’s
- German: 430’s
- French: 440’s
- Italian: 450’s
- Spanish & Portuguese: 460’s
- Latin: 470’s
- Greek: 480’s
- Other European Languages: 491
- Arabic: 492
- Asian Languages: 495
Audiobooks
Adult audiobooks are shelved alphabetically by language in the Language Learning section on the main level
New Reader & Easy Reader Books
- New Reader books are adult contemporary novels and classics rewritten at a beginner’s reading level. The call numbers start with NR/ and they are shelved together in the Language Learning section on the main level
- Great Illustrated Classics are also adult classics rewritten at a lower reading level. They are shelved alphabetically by the author’s last name in the Children’s Room
- Easy Reader books are children’s picture books designed to help build language and reading skills. The call numbers start with ER/ and they are shelved in the Easy Reader section of the Children’s Room
The resources below offer courses or other information on learning American Sign Language. These groups schedule their own courses, and may charge fees.
Massachusetts Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing
The Learning Center for the Deaf
The Children’s Center for Communication/Beverly School for the Deaf
American Sign Language University – a free self study program by Dr. Bill Vicars, a tenured ASL Instructor at California State University.
The resources below offer courses or other information for learning English as a speaker of another language. Groups schedule their own courses or meetings, and some may charge fees. Or download the library’s resource guide.
Abisi Adult Education Center – Offering local English for Speakers of Another Language (ESOL) classes. Classes are for adult learners whose native language is not English. Students are placed in introductory, beginning or intermediate classes to improve their reading, writing and speaking skills. All instruction is in English. Students must be at least 18 years old.
Grace Chapel – Classes at Grace Chapel are designed to help immigrants and other internationals in the local community learn conversational English in a comfortable setting. Class levels range from beginner to advanced.
Merrimack Valley Immigrant and Education Center – Offering morning and evening classes in English for Speakers of Other Languages.
Sounds of English – An online guide to help improve pronunciation of English, and to help with spelling and reading. Lessons and activities are free.
Voice of America – Free online, video based, lessons for learning English.
Organizations and Tutors:
Adult Learner Center (Nashua, NH) – Offers adults free, confidential, one-on-one instruction and tutoring
in basic reading and literacy, communication skills for English as a Second Language (ESL) students.
English At Large – English at Large is a nonprofit that provides individual and small-group instruction through a volunteer network to adult immigrants and other newcomers
who want to acquire English language skills as they adapt to life in the United States.
ESL programs in Massachusetts, USA – Listing of Massachusetts ESL Schools and Programs, from the esldirectory.com website.
Internet TESL Journal – Articles, research papers, lesson plans, classroom handouts, teaching ideas & links for teachers of ESL/ESOL.
Literacy Volunteers – The Literacy Volunteers of Methuen operates programs out of the Nevins Library for ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages) and Adult Basic Education (ABE). The Pollard Memorial Library in Lowell also offers Adult Literacy Services in conjunction with the Literacy Volunteers of Massachusetts, including ESL and tutoring services.
Massachusetts Adult Literacy Hotline (1-800-447-8844)- The Massachusetts Adult Literacy Hotline provides referrals to over 300 adult education programs that offer one-on-one tutoring, small-group or classroom instruction to adult learners. They also have an online tool for finding a program.
Massachusetts Coalition for Adult Education (MCAE) – Adult Education (MCAE) is the voice of adult basic education in Massachusetts. They include English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) among other basic education resources and programs.
TOEFL Preparation:
TOEFL Test Preparation: The Insider’s Guide – Prepare for the TOEFL® test and learn how to improve your score and English language skills from the experts who create the exam. Take this free online course through edX.
Union Test Prep – Free practice tests, study guides, and flashcards for the TOEFL.