Provides ratings, buying guides, product reviews and consumer information from the experts at Consumer Reports magazine and Consumers Union. View a tutorial.
Ask at Reference Desk for login
In-Library Access: http://www.socialaw.com/account/librarylogin
Collection of Massachusetts court and state agency decisions from the Social Law Library’s legal research databases; provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.
This resource from the National Cybersecurity Alliance contains a variety of tutorials and other resources to help you use social media and he internet safely. Find information on personal privacy, corporate security, computer viruses, reporting cybercrime, and many other urgent topics.
Consumer Reports Magazine
Current issues are available to check out in the Periodicals Room on the upper level, and current and older issues are in the Reference area
Boston Consumers’ Checkbook
Current and older issues are in the Reference area
NADA Guide
Price guide for used cars, published by the National Automobile Dealers Association – current issues are at the Reference area
Seniors Blue Book
resource guide for Assisted Living, Home Health, Non-Medical, Hospice, Skilled Nursing, Alzheimer’s, Events, Activities
Massachusetts Citizen Information Service – Citizen information service links from the Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Consumer.gov – A government website that helps consumers learn to manage and use money wisely, use credit and loans carefully, and protect your identity and money
ConsumerFinance.gov – The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau is a U.S. government agency that makes sure banks, lenders, and other financial companies treat you fairly
Consumer Product Safety Commission – Information on product recalls, safety hazards, statistics, regulations, and laws
Better Business Bureau – Nation-wide organization that voluntarily tracks in a fair way the conduct of businesses, service providers and charities, and provides an online search tool for looking up an organization’s record
Annual Credit Report (free) – Government-approved Web site where you can get a free credit report from each of the three major credit bureaus once a year. It won’t give you your actual credit score, but most people don’t need it. (The exception: If you’re actively shopping for a loan right now, go to myFICO.com to get your current score — and a report from Equifax or TransUnion — for $16.)
ConsumerSearch.com – Reviews hundreds of product reviews, analyzes them, distills the information shoppers need and recommends which products are the best
NADAguides.com – Searchable price guide for used cars, published by the National Automobile Dealers Association
Kelley Blue Book – Searchable price guide for used cars
FuelEconomy.gov – The EPA and the DOE maintain this website for information about car fuel economy with up-to-date information for cars new and old.
Resources for Seniors:
Attorney General’s Elder Hotline (1-888-243-5337); TTY: (617)727-4765
The Elder Hotline is available to callers Monday through Friday, from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. The hotline, which is staffed by senior volunteers, provides dispute resolution services and is a comprehensive resource for information and referral on a full range of concerns. Common concerns include: Debt and debt collection practices, Health insurance, Home improvement, Landlord/tenant issues, Long-term care insurance, Scam awareness, and Telemarketing.