CPL Blog Home
Teens@CPL Blog




Categories
RSS Feed icon Keep up to date with RSS:
  • Entries
  • Comments
  • See all CPL RSS feeds
  • Subscribe by Email


Chelmsford Library Blog is powered by WordPress


« Previous Entries Next Entries »

Education Resources at the Library

   Thursday, May 28th, 2009 - by: Brian Herzog, Head of Reference

New EDU book shelvesWe've made some changed to the education-related resources at the library:

  • New Section for EDU Books
    To make college directories and test study guides easier to find, we pulled them out of the normal non-fiction shelves and places them in a special section. These new shelves are located by the Teen Services Desk on the lower level, and are marked in the catalog by the call numbers EDU.

    Also on these shelves you will find financial aid information, FAFSA forms and worksheets, and college catalogs.

  • New database: Testing & Education Reference Center
    This database replaces the Learning Express Library, and offers high school, college information, tools, practice tests and study guides, as well as application builders, and profiles of colleges.

    This database is also create for career and employment research. It has many practice test for career and proficiency exams, an online resume builder, a career research library, self-assessment test, and much more.

    The Testing & Education Reference Center, can be used from home or in the library - to get started, visit http://www.chelmsfordlibrary.org/reference/databases_alpha.html#TERC

For help with these education resources, please contact the Reference Desk at askus@mvlc.org or 978-256-5521 x211.

   Posted in Reference, Resources | 1 Comment »




Research Database Updates

   Thursday, January 10th, 2008 - by: Brian Herzog, Head of Reference

There were two recent changes to the research databases provided by the Chelmsford Library:

New Historical Newspaper Database
Access NewspaperARCHIVE logoThe library has just signed up with the Access NewspaperARCHIVE database, which provides access to over 2000 newspapers from all over the world. Some of the newspapers date back to the 1700s, which means this is a great resource for students and others looking for primary sources.

This database is accessible from within the library only, and patrons can browse by location, date, or newspaper title. What you'll find are the front pages of most major and many minor newspapers, just like they appeared when they were originally published.

All of the newspapers are saved as PDF files, and require Adobe Acrobat Reader to view them. And like other PDFs, they can be easily printed, saved or emailed.

New Interface for NewsBank Newspapers
NewsBank logoThe NewsBank databases (Chelmsford Independent, Lowell Sun, New York Times) have a brand new interface designed to significantly enhance the searching experience. A few of the improvements allow patrons to more easily:

  • refine searches for more relevant returns
  • limit searches by article word count to filter out news briefs and minor articles
  • refine results and pinpoint articles by title, date, source type and geographic location
  • display topic and events results over time
  • print, email or cite articles with an improved toolbox

For help using either of these databases, or for questions on any of the resources offered by the Chelmsford Library, please contact the Reference Desk.

chelmsford, database, databases, historical, library, newsbank, newspaper, newspaperarchive, newspapers, papers, public

   Posted in Library Information, Resources | No Comments »




New Database: Literary Reference Center

   Friday, September 14th, 2007 - by: Brian Herzog, Head of Reference

Literary Reference Center screenChelmsford Library patrons now have a new way to research books and authors: Literary Reference Center.

Searchable from either your home or the library, this database has full-text information on thousands of authors and their works. Content is broken down into a number of categories (plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, author biographies, literary journals, poems, short stories, classic texts, author interview and more). All search results are gathered into convenient tabs for easy organization.

Information can best be found in one of two ways:

  1. For broad searches on topics or subjects, use the Find: search box near the top of the screen
  2. To find specific authors or works, use the Browse Authors/Browse Works links near the middle of the screen

Other features include a Literary Glossary (for definitions of literature-related words), a timeline of works and their historical context, a research guide, help with citing sources, and frequently-updated books and author highlights.

Access to Literary Reference Center is funding by NMRLS. For help accessing or using the database, please contact the Reference Desk.

authors, books, chelmsford library, database, databases, library, literary reference center, literature, lrc, research

   Posted in Computer, Reference, Resources | No Comments »




Improvements to the InfoTrac PowerSearch Database

   Monday, August 13th, 2007 - by: Brian Herzog, Head of Reference

Thomson-Gale logoDatabase vendor Gale has released a set of new features to the InfoTrac databases and the PowerSearch platform. These databases can be used to find articles appearing in magazines, journals and books on a wide variety of subjects.

Many of the features were developed in response to end-user feedback. Some of the key features to note are:

  • Enhanced Navigation, including a new "Document Tools" box (print, email, cite, download, translate) on each document
  • RSS feeds for instant search and/or journal alerts
  • "Did You Mean?" search feature provides alternate spellings and more preferred search terms
  • Search Within Results, to help pinpoint specific information
  • Enhanced Bookmarks, allowing direct access to articles
  • Improved "How-to-Cite" tools

If you're interested in learning about more enhancements or seeing what the changes look like, Gale has prepared a presentation (requires Microsoft PowerPoint): http://www.gale.com/Technical/PowerSearchSummer.ppt [ppt, 1.25MB]

To begin searching InfoTrac, please log in from the Library's Databases webpage.

For help with this or any other Library database, please contact the Reference Desk.
article, articles, database, databases, gale, research, searching, thomson gale

   Posted in Reference, Resources | No Comments »




New Resources Available at the Library

   Tuesday, July 3rd, 2007 - by: Brian Herzog, Head of Reference

Rosetta Stone Language Learning Database
Rosetta Stone logoAre you taking a trip to Europe, and would like to learn a bit of the language before you go? Would you like to brush up on your high school French? Are you new to this country and are still practicing English?

If you answered yes to any of the above questions, then the Rosetta Stone Language Learning database is for you. Using an award-winning approach to learning languages, Rosetta Stone teaches through listening comprehension, reading, speaking, and writing, using interactive programs that are both educational and fun. Nine languages are covered, including English (US & UK), French, German, Greek, Italian, Russian, Spanish (Latin American & Spain).

Business & Personal Forms On File
This database contains common personal, business and government forms, ranging from financial aid, real estate, sales, employment, and much more. Access to them is available in the library or at home, 24 hours a day, and the forms are the most up-to-date versions required for legal real estate health and social services, immigration, and other transactions.

Forms can be found by both browsing categories or searching for keywords, and they are available as convenient Adobe PDF files. This single repository is easier and more reliable to search than the internet, and with at-home access no photocopying is needed.

How to Get Started:
Forms on File is provided by the library, Rosetta Stone is being funded by the Merrimack Valley Library Consortium, and both are available to all Chelmsford residents. To log in and start learning from home or in the library, visit our Reference web page. For help, please contact the Reference Desk.

business forms, chelmsford, chelmsford library, database, databases, forms, forms on file, language, languages, learning, mvlc, personal forms, rosetta stone

   Posted in Reference, Resources | No Comments »




« Previous Entries Next Entries »