CPL Blog Home
Teens@CPL Blog




Categories
RSS Feed icon Keep up to date with RSS:
  • Entries
  • Comments
  • See all CPL RSS feeds
  • Subscribe by Email


Chelmsford Library Blog is powered by WordPress


« Previous Entries

Find the Value of Your Antiques!

   Thursday, October 23rd, 2014 - by: Brian Herzog, Head of Reference

If you're curious about the history or value of some of your antique furniture, vintage toys, or just old stuff, the library has quite a few resources that can help.

Every year we get updated copies of price guides for coins and money, stamps, sports cards, and other collectibles. There are encyclopedias and picture guides for almost every subject too - toys to cigars to watches to clothing. Most of these are in the non-fiction shelves downstairs, and the Reference staff is happy to help you locate the right book.

Chelmsford residents also have access to an online antique pricing resource called P4A Antiques Reference (P4A stands for "Price For Antiques") - it's a quick way to check how much an antique might be worth, based on what similar pieces have sold at recent auctions.

P4A Price for Antiques database

The focus is on collectibles and historic Americana, including furniture, china, glassware, folkart, brass, silver, iron, artwork, and major antique collectibles, with complete information on when, where, and for what price the antique was sold. The database will also provide a little background information on each item, including date, maker, etc, based on the information that was provided at the auction.

Because antiques are described differently by different people, don't give up after your first search. Try describing your piece in various ways, and also try the country of origin, material used, and maker, if possible.

If you have any questions about the P4A Antiques Reference database, please contact the Reference Desk.

   Posted in Reference, Resources | No Comments »




Find the Value of Your Antiques

   Tuesday, November 27th, 2012 - by: Brian Herzog, Head of Reference

If you're curious about the history or value of some of your antique furniture, vintage toys, or just old stuff, the library has quite a few resources that can help.

Every year we get updated copies of price guides for coins and money, stamps, sports cards, and other collectibles. There are encyclopedias and picture guides for almost every subject too - toys to cigars to watches to clothing. Most of these are in the non-fiction shelves downstairs, and the Reference staff is happy to help you locate the right book.

Chelmsford residents also have access to an online antique pricing resource called P4A Antiques Reference (P4A stands for "Price For Antiques") - it's a quick way to check how much an antique might be worth, based on what similar pieces have sold at recent auctions.

P4A Price for Antiques database

The focus is on collectibles and historic Americana, including furniture, china, glassware, folkart, brass, silver, iron, artwork, and major antique collectibles, with complete information on when, where, and for what price the antique was sold. The database will also provide a little background information on each item, including date, maker, etc, based on the information that was provided at the auction.

Because antiques are described differently by different people, don't give up after your first search. Try describing your piece in various ways, and also try the country of origin, material used, and maker, if possible.

If you have any questions about the P4A Antiques Reference database, please contact the Reference Desk.

   Posted in Reference, Resources | No Comments »




New Online Resources Available on our Website

   Tuesday, March 29th, 2011 - by: Brian Herzog, Head of Reference

Over the last few months, the library has added a whole bunch of new online resources to our website. All of these are accessible either in the library, or outside the library with your library card and internet access.

Below is a list of the new resources, grouped by subject. To find them on our website, you can scroll through the alphabetical list, or find resources using our subject guides.

Books & Literature

  • Books and Authors
    Over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarian's favorites lists, Books & Authors helps bring readers and literature together.
  • LitFinder
    Covers world literature and authors throughout history, with wealth of literary works including full-text poems and poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.

Business

  • Business and Company Resource Center
    Provides access to a wide variety of global business information including competitive intelligence, career and investment opportunities, rankings, company profiles & histories and much more.
  • RDS Business Suite
    Balanced and highly focused full-text coverage of company and industry news, management practices, and market research information, featuring leading worldwide business sources, plus tens of thousands of tables with strategic data.

Health & Science

  • Health and Wellness Resource Center
    Access to ~400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, health-related videos, and articles from general interest publications.
  • Psychology & Mental Health (Salem Health)
    Online access to Salem Press' Psychology & Mental Health, covering notable theories, people, social issues, life stages, the physiology and anatomy of the nervous system, and diagnoses, disorders, treatments, tests, for various mental illnesses or conditions, all in a simple, easy to use A-Z format.
  • Science In Context
    Contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics, with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

News & General

  • Global Issues In Context
    International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global and current events, including analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
  • Opposing Viewpoints In Context
    Information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
  • Student Resources In Context
    Covering history, literature, science, social studies, and more, with reference material, full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, video and audio clips and podcasts.

History

  • American in World History
    Explores the core historical events, trends, and personalities from U.S. history within the context of global history and international relations, using description, illustrations, maps, primary sources, a master timeline, and bibliographies for further research.
  • Milestone Documents in American History
    Online access to Salem Press' Milestone Documents of World History, which combines in-depth analysis with over 125 iconic primary source documents from ancient times to the present and from virtually every geographical region. The Salem History database also searches Great Lives from History: Inventors and Inventions and Encyclopedia of American Immigration.
  • U.S. History In Context
    Contextual information on hundreds of significant people, events and topics in U.S. History, from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
  • World History In Context
    Information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History, from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
   Posted in Resources | No Comments »




New Resources Available at the Library

   Tuesday, July 13th, 2010 - by: Brian Herzog, Head of Reference

Through the library, Chelmsford residents now have access to a few new research and reference databases, and one new museum pass:

New Museum Pass
American Textile History MuseumThanks to the Chelmsford Friends of the Library we now have a new pass to the American Textile History Museum in Lowell. The American Textile History Museum tells America's story through the art, history, and science of textiles. The pass admits two adults and two children to the museum, and all 17 of our museum passes can be reserved through our website.

New Research Databases

  • Safari Computer Ebooks - Online collection of over 3,000 computer and technical ebooks, covering programming, design, desktop publishing, ecommerce, online business, hardware and more, from publishers such as O'Reilly, Wiley, Pretence Hall, and many more.
  • Encyclopedia of American Immigration - Online access to Salem Press' Encyclopedia of American Immigration, covering the various cultures and significant individuals that immigrated to the US, and their impact after arriving. The Salem History database also searches Great Lives from History: Inventors and Inventions.
  • Great Lives from History: Inventors and Inventions - Online access to Salem Press' Great Lives from History: Inventors and Inventions, offering in-depth biographical essays on important men and women inventors of all time, from around the world. The Salem History database also searches Encyclopedia of American Immigration.

For help reserving any of our museum passes or using any of our online resources, please contact the Reference Desk at askus@mvlc.org or 978-256-5521 x211.

   Posted in Friends of the Library, Library Information, Resources | No Comments »




Free ProQuest Access for National Library Week

   Thursday, April 8th, 2010 - by: Brian Herzog, Head of Reference

National Library WeekThe library subscribes to many online resources to help with research. However, for National Library Week, April 12-18, 2010, you'll be able to access even more - ProQuest is providing free access to some of their most popular databases, including:

  • CultureGramsTM explore the world's cultures with local experts that document the history, customs, government, and daily life in multimedia reports on over 200 countries
  • eLibrary® this easy to use resource brings together content about in-demand subjects from millions of multimedia-rich, global resources
  • ProQuest® African American Heritage brings together records critical to African American family history research and connects users to a community of research experts
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ - Black Newspapers experience history firsthand via continuous runs of the following full-image titles: The Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Los Angeles Sentinel, and New York Amsterdam News

Visit http://www.proquest.com/go/celebrate to access these resources and more, during National Library Week. No username or password needed.

If you have questions about these databases, or any online resources offered by the Chelmsford Library, please ask at the Reference Desk, email askus@mvlc.org or call 978-256-5521 x211.

   Posted in Resources | No Comments »




« Previous Entries